Current Members


Dr. David R. Smith is the James B. Duke Distinguished Professor of Electrical and Computer Engineering Department at Duke University, where he also serves as Director for the Center of Metamaterials and Integrated Plasmonics. Dr. Smith is also an Adjunct Associate Professor in the Physics Department at the University of California, San Diego (UCSD), and is a Visiting Professor in the Physics Department at Imperial College, London. Dr. Smith's research has been focused on advanced electromagnetic materials and composites, including photonic crystals and metamaterials.

Bethany Day is the Assistant Director for the Duke Center for Metamaterials and Integrated Plasmonics. Bethany coordinates activities, visits and events for the Center, and serves as the main contact for the industrial affiliates and other collaborative programs.

Dr. Yaroslav Urzhumov is a Adjunct Professor in the Department of Electrical and Computer Engineering, specializing in the numerical simulation of metamaterials and plasmonic nanosystems. Dr. Urzhumov received his PhD in Physics from the University of Texas, Austin, and subsequently spent two years as a technical associate at COMSOL. Dr. Urzhumov specializes in developing analysis techniques for problems involving multiple physical processes, including hybrid metamaterials.

Dr. Stephane Larouche is currently a post-doctoral fellow in our group, studying various aspects of linear and nonlinear metamaterials and plasmons. Dr. Larouche received his PhD in engineering physics from the Ecole Polytechnique de Montreal, under the supervision of Ludvik Martinu. Dr. Larouche has developed advanced methods for the design of optical filters with arbitrary refractive indices. He has developed a retrieval method for the characterization of nonlinear metamaterials, and currently leads several projects in the lab including infrared metamaterials.

Dr. Christos Argyropoulos is currently a post-doctoral associate in our group, studying theoretical and experimental aspects of nonlinear plasmonic, nanophotonic and metamaterial devices. Dr. Argyropoulos received his PhD from Queen Mary, University of London, where he worked on numerical, analytical and experimental design and modeling of metamaterial and all-dielectric novel microwave/optical structures. Next, he was employed as a Postdoctoral Fellow at University of Texas at Austin, developing theoretical and numerical techniques to analyze linear and nonlinear plasmonic structures, thermal emitters, novel energy harvesting devices and metamaterials.

Dr. Gleb Akselrod is currently a postdoctoral associate in our group, working on experimental and theoretical aspects of nanoplasmonic elements and devices. Dr. Akselrod received his Ph.D. in Physics from the Massachusetts Institute of Technology, where he studied transport and coherence of excitons in organic and nanostructured materials, under the supervision of Prof. Vladimir Bulovic.

Guy Lipworth is a graduate student researcher designing metamaterials that have controlled response at infrared wavelengths.

Joining Metagroup

We welcome inquiries from undergraduate and graduate students, postdoctoral associates, visiting researchers and technical associates interested in participating in our research group! We are a dynamic team with active interests in all forms of metamaterial research, plasmonics, transformation optics, and cloaking, spanning the electromagnetic spectrum from radio and microwaves to visible light. We maintain a close connection with applied aspects of this research, usually pursuing proof-of-concept device implementations in parallel with the science. Positions within the group and the Center for Metamaterials and Integrated Plasmonics depend on funding and space availability. Please see our Positions page for the most recent information on available positions.


Former Members

Cristian Ciraci

Vinh Nguyen

Wangren Xu

John Hunt

Shizhe Shen

Britt Lassiter

Alec Rose
October, 2013

Nathan Landy
October, 2013
Intellectual Ventures

Yu-Ju Tsai

Jack Mock

Tom Driscoll
October, 2010 - January, 2013
Intellectual Ventures

Da Huang
September, 2007 - May, 2013

Ekaterina Poutrina
October, 2007 - December, 2012

Jeffery Allen
May, 2007- May, 2011
Airforce Research Labs

Nathan Kundtz
January, 2008 - June, 2010
Intellectual Ventures, CTO Kymeta

Soji Sajuyigbe
July, 2006 - May, 2010
Intel, Applications Engineer

Fabrizia Ghezzo
July, 2008 - October, 2009
Kuang-Chi Institute, Senior Scientist

Cameron Harrison
June, 2007 - October, 2008
Proctor and Gamble, Senior Scientist

Ruopeng Liu
August, 2006 - December, 2009
Kuang-Chi Institute, President

Aloyse Degiron
October, 2004 - May, 2009
Universite Paris-Sud and CNRS
Orsay, France, Junior Professor

Marco Rahm
September, 2006 - September, 2008
Universitat Kaiserslautern, Junior Professor of Physics

Jonah Gollub
October, 2004 - October, 2008
Phoebus Optoelectronics, Physicist

Dan Roberts
September, 2006 - June, 2009
Massachussetts Institute of Technology, Graduate Student

David Schurig
October, 2004 - August, 2007
University of Utah, Electrical Engineering Department, Associate Professor

Bryan Justice
August, 2005 - February, 2007
SensorMetrix, Staff Engineer